Share This Post


AWS Security Competency program gets revamped

AWS security competency

During its security conference in Boston, Amazon Web Services (AWS) announced that it has reinvented its popular AWS Security Competency program with eight new categories to enable customers more easily find partner software and service solutions. The announcement was made by AWS chief information security officer (CISO) C.J. Moses during the opening keynote session. 

“We want to assist customers in avoiding security jargon so they can pinpoint the third-party software needed to support them, all of course validated by AWS,” said Moses. “Because our AWS security competency partners are critical to extending the benefits of AWS, we took customer feedback to do a global design.” 

AWS has divided the program into eight categories that address 40 different customer security use cases comprising software and professional service support. The eight categories include application security, identity and access management (IAM), data protection, compliance and privacy, infrastructure security, threat detection and response (TDR), perimeter protection, and core security. 

AWS security experts have defined each of the eight categories to help customers find specific system integrators, security managed service providers, and independent software vendor (ISV) offerings that fit their specific cloud security needs. 

New specializations in Level 1 MSSP Software Competency 

AWS also introduced six new specialization categories for the AWS Level 1 MSSP Competency.  

Last year the Level 1 MSSP Competency program was launched with competencies, including infrastructure vulnerability, security best practices monitoring, resource inventory visibility, compliance monitoring, 24×7 incident alerting, distributed denial-of-service mitigation, triaging of security events, managed intrusion protection, MDR for AWS endpoints and managed web application firewall. 

The six new MSSP security service domains are vulnerability management, network security, host and endpoint security, threat detection and response, application security, and cloud security best practices and compliance. 

AWS has certified its Level 1 MSSP partners to use native AWS security services including Amazon Guard Duty, the AWS Security Hub, and ISV SaaS security tools. Level 1 MSSP Competency specialization partners that support the new AWS categories include Accenture, Arctic Wolf, Capgemini, Deepwatch, Deloitte, DXC, GDIT, Hitachi, Ibexlabs, IBM, Proficio, RedBearIT, StackArmor, and Wipro.  

Read next: JFrog Streamlines Security Threat Detection and Response with AWS

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

+ 24 = 26